To 'Straw' or not to 'Straw' (using or not using straw)?

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by Awestruck, Feb 13, 2017.

1. Awestruck

Awestruck Chillin' With My Peeps

May 15, 2012
    I don't have my coop set up yet, so I have no experience and want to learn what to do when my chickens are ready to be in their coop. I have read a couple of different articles on bedding. One recommended straw to use. Another article says not to use straw because it is too slippery. What do you all think? I found straw at Tractor Supply so I now have it accessible for me to use, but if it is not good material for chickens or if it is harmful to them, I need to know. Also, what do people usually use for the bedding? Do you use the same material for the nesting box as for the bedding on the ground?

2. Venevee

Venevee Out Of The Brooder

Oct 12, 2016
    Hello! [​IMG]
    I use all straw. My hens love it, and they can peck and scratch at the seeds from the straw bales. It covers more then saw dust, you seem to get more with straw, smells good (if the bale is quality), and my hens prefer it for their nesting boxes. You don't need a lot of straw for nests either, only about a flake. With saw dust, you need quite a bit of it for a nest, and my hens won't lay in a saw dust nest. They are very picky and spoiled for sure...
    Also, straw seems to keep them warmer during the winter. Iowa winters can be very brutal, so straw is a must for me.
    I would use straw but whatever works out best for you is fine!
    [​IMG]

3. SunHwaKwon

SunHwaKwon Overrun With Chickens

Jul 19, 2015
    Eastern Shore, MD