toe and eye problems

Discussion in 'Quail' started by veggietreeigrl, Jan 22, 2014.

1. veggietreeigrl

veggietreeigrl Out Of The Brooder

Jan 13, 2014
    Southern California
    Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to BYC. [​IMG] For those who did not see my introductory post I recently got a quail. The little I know of his background is that his previous owners got him from someone but didn't have enough space so they gave him to me. Apparently they already knew about his eyes problem and didn't mention it. He lived in cramped quarters with no bedding/litter and was fed only chicken food. Now, the people who had him last aren't bad people, they knew this wasn't good which is why they gave him up. I only mention it in case any of that might help with diagnosis. I have a million questions, but I'll try to keep it short.

First, his toe problem:
    [​IMG]

As you can see one of his toes is quite bent. I didn't give him a good look over the first few days because I wanted him to settle first and didn't want to stress him out too much. So, I don't know if this is an old or new injury. I'll have to ask the people I got him from if they had noticed it. Any ideas what this could be? Injury or nutritional problem or...? He seems to get around just fine. He's pretty active.

The other problem is his eyes. This isn't a very good picture but;
    [​IMG]

One eye looks completely closed shut, He came to me like that. The other eye (not pictured)started closing and looked watery a couple days ago. No watery beak or sneezing anything like that. Droppings look healthy. He's eating tons, drinking water, singing in the morning, active. I started putting terramycin ointment on both eyes and the one not pictured opened up and stopped being watery but it still looks cloudy. Any ideas to what's wrong? Should I keep using the terramycin? Something else? Try to find a qualified vet?

Non heath questions: How can I tell "his" gender? How can I tell his age? Is he a coturnix quail?