Tons Of Questions

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by ThePRfan, Dec 29, 2014.

1. ThePRfan

ThePRfan Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 27, 2014
    This questions need answered I meediatly.

I have a molting bird.(Well I think.)She seems fine,but I have saw 2 hens pick at her chess.She does have a hard molt going on causing blood.
    What's going on?My coop is about 6 or 8 feet long,and I have tons of things my birds roost on.

I am not a expert on the chest.My chickens get grit,every time I can get it.Well about a few months ago,I gave them a lil under a half a bag.They swallow fine,I think.
    My problem is Little red has a hard chest.Is it feeding them too much?They get 1 scoop of food,and free range,everyday.

Nobody answers my questions about my Turkey and pegion sounds.
    My NHR's make pegion sounds,but this isn't odd,they've done it ever since chicks.
    My PR,makes turkey sounds,and it's unusual.Any ideals?

-ThePRfan

2. Mrs. K

Mrs. K Overrun With Chickens

Nov 12, 2009
    western South Dakota
    I don't know about the pigeon sounds? But I have noticed when mine eat the fermented feed fast, they get kind of squeaky, like they have temporarily lost their voice.

As for the molting to blood, that does not sound like a molt to me, it could be a possible pecking problem? Pecking problems can be a sign of overcrowding. How many chickens are in what measurements.

Mrs K

3. lalaland

lalaland Overrun With Chickens

Sep 26, 2008
    Pine County MN
    i agree, molting does not involve blood.

If the other chickens are pecking at the hen, and causing blood, you could have a serious problem. Chickens going after blood can literally kill. There is a product called blue kote - you spray it on the wound, it does two things: changes the color to purple because chickens peck at red, and it has some antiseptic qualities.