Too early to molt?

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by austinclarksf, Aug 25, 2013.

1. austinclarksf

austinclarksf Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2012
    Hi folks,

Is it too early for hens to molt? I live in ABQ New Mexico, and this is my first year with a flock. I don't know many good chicken owners in the area, they are no help.

My RIR is lookin nappy, she is just over 1 year old. Her head is mostly bald, and she's shedding feathers from all over. My game bird also lost all of her tail feathers one day, she is just younger than 1 year. I can post pictures.

Behavior is normal, although she may not be 100%, she hasnt laid an egg for 3 weeks. I de-wormed for a second round last weekend (1st round Wazine, 2nd round Safeguard), she was suffering from roundworms when she stopped laying. My biggest concern is her comb. It's shrunken considerably, and is not it's usual vibrant red. Her droppings look normal.

I treated for cocci after losing a bird 1 and a half months ago. Could she be suffering still, and need another treatment? My flock's overall health improved after a treatment of Sulmet.

2. Bullitt

Bullitt Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 16, 2012
    Texas
    It seems they may be molting.

Type molting into the search box. There are many threads about it.

3. Eggcessive

Eggcessive True BYC Addict

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    Usually birds molt at around 18 months and yearly thereafter, but stress, lack of food or water, or other reasons can suddenly throw a chicken into a molt. This is the time of year for it since many raise chicks in the spring.

4. BantamLover21

BantamLover21 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Sounds to me like they're molting. Chickens stop laying when they start molting, and their combs/wattles usually shrivel up. Also, chickens do usually start molting when they are a year or slightly over a year of age.

5. austinclarksf

Dec 17, 2012