TOO MANY CONTRIDICTIONS. Frustrated chicken mom

LoneCowboy

Songster
12 Years
Aug 26, 2007
Longmont, CO
Ok, there are just too many contridictions out there and I need your help figuring this stuff out. I'm new to chickens, but I've been reading up on them for over 2 years now. I have 3 different chicken books. Plus the hatchery catalog and another hatchery start page, and then a flier from the local feed store. Each one has a different opinion and they are adamint about it.

I've got my brooder coop all ready to go for my 50 little girls coming on Oct 3rd. 1" of bedding, light 18" above the brooder, thermometer that sends a signal into the house so I can watch the temp, out in the brooder etc. But here's my problem

about 3 of the sources say put down newspaper over the bedding for 1 day. 2 say never use newpaper use paper towels that newspaper is to slick. 1 says never never never use paper at all or they will get spraddle leg and a spraddle leg chick is a dead chick.

What is it? What should I do?

I learned on this forum that spraddle leg can be fixed and does not necessarily equal dead chick.

Of course, this is only one of the many contridictions I've noted. Being a person who likes firm set rules, life is very frustrating. (especially the english language) .

Are chicks more or less fragile than they are made out to be? Maybe none of this is as important as the books make it out to be. I don't know, looking for all your experience.

First of all don't get distressed the chicks are more durable than you would think. Actually they are pretty tough little guys. As far as the bedding goes i have never and would never use any type of surface that they might slide on such as news paper. I use some type of loose bedding or paper towels and have never had a problem. The main thing is to keep fresh water and food available at all times and some sort of heat and they will do fine. Again don't stress just have fun with them!
big_smile.png