1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Too many male muscovies

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Chrome99, Aug 28, 2013.

1. Chrome99

Chrome99 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 20, 2013
    I ordered 6 straight-run muscovy ducklings and now that they are 8 weeks old I've come to the conclusion that I only have one female. I plan on rehoming three of the males (which I have planned on doing from the start, due to lack of space) and keeping the two remaining males and one female. Will this cause problems? Im guessing Im going to have to find myself a second female, but figured Id make sure its absolutley necessary before doing so. This is my first time raising ducks and its been so much fun, just wish I ended up with more females.

2. estaswick

estaswick Out Of The Brooder

Jun 16, 2013
    It most likely will, I would re home (or otherwise cull) the other male as well. Perhaps you can find someone to trade with for a 2nd female. I have quite a few of the buggers running around here in Chicago. Perhaps you can find someone near you.

3. muskuslove

muskuslove Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2013
    Nederland, Den Haag
    Wow, two males and one female will be hard on the female [​IMG]
    They will tear her apart! Muscovy`s are very fruitful. Maybe you keep 2 or 3 drakes? They are real sweet too. If not, i would only keep one drake and one girl.

4. Chrome99

Chrome99 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 20, 2013
    Thanks, thats what I figured. If I can find another female locally, will two males and two females be alright?

5. muskuslove

muskuslove Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2013
    Nederland, Den Haag