Too Many Roosters?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by fradytrc, Jul 18, 2011.

1. fradytrc

fradytrc Out Of The Brooder

Jul 18, 2011
    Central NC
    I am a rookie in the chicken world..I have 23 chickens, 9 roosters and the rest hens. They are about 4 1/2 months old. Things have been going well although I haven't had any eggs laid yet. I have been told that I need to get rid of some of the roosters. What is your advice?

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    [​IMG] I would recommend getting rid of all but 2 of the roosters. All is fine now, but when they start jostling for position and start breeding the hens-- watch out! That many roosters harassing the hens will cause much stress and possibly physical damage to them.

3. denco5

denco5 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 23, 2010
    Ocoee Florida
    I to had to many roosters, all was fine until they got older. I had five and had to go down to just one. They will fight and torment each other and the hens soon, be ready!

4. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Hello there, I personally would keep just one rooster at a time, two at the most.

5. Runfox

Runfox Out Of The Brooder

Nov 4, 2009
    I have a setup with basicly two flocks next to each other. I have my established flock, and I have the new young adolescents next to them , hoping to eventually let them all be together when the young ones are old enough. I have a rooster with the older hens , and I now see I have a rooster with the young ones too. So can they all eventually become one flock, with two roosters and 15 hens??? My wife was thinking the two roosters would fight. I think the older one will put the younger one in place and they will eventually be ok.

6. ChestnutRidge

ChestnutRidge Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 26, 2011
    Western Virginia