Too many roosters?

Discussion in 'Chicken Behaviors and Egglaying' started by Delsur, Dec 13, 2013.

1. Delsur

Delsur New Egg

Jul 7, 2013
    We bought 10 chicks in September - 9 hens and 1 rooster. They're now around 12 weeks old and it's pretty obvious we have 2 roosters, not 1.

Will the two roosters fight? Become territorial? I had only planned on one but now I have two: a golden lace wyandotte and a Delaware and 8 hens. I'm a newbie and don't know what to expect.

2. Wyandottes7

Wyandottes7 Overrun With Chickens

Jul 24, 2013
    Two roosters may get along, especially if they are raised together. I frequently keep multiple cockerels (in their own "bachelor area", and they get along fine, with only the occaisonal skirmish.

However, your hens may not like you having two roosters. Ideally, you want at least eight hens per rooster, or the hens will get overmated and stressed out. It depends on the rooster, though. Some roosters need even more than eight hens of their own to prevent overmating, and others will live happily with one or two hens, and never damage their feathers.

3. Delsur

Delsur New Egg

Jul 7, 2013
    Thanks for the info. I guess it's a "wait and see" situation.

4. donnavee

donnavee Chillin' With My Peeps

May 7, 2009
    Central NC