1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

TOO MUCH CALCIUM?!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by silverlining, Apr 20, 2009.

1. silverlining

silverlining Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2009
    Highlands Ranch
    Ok, so I might be over reacting, but I'm new to this whole chicken thing and don't want to accidentally hurt my babies!

I bought parakeet/budgie grit from pets mart but it says "calcium enriched." I did NOT give any to them because I then heard that too much calcium is bad for chicks. I then went to our feed store but they said they didn't have any chick grit. I then heard you could get it in the pet section at wall mart, so I went there. They DID have some parakeet grit, and it didnt have a huge "calcium enriched" sign on it, so I bought it. I gave a tiny bit to the chickies (just out of my palm), sprinkled it on their food, and then checked the ingredients out of curiosity. well it says it has calcium carbonate just like the other kind from pets mart!!! except this kind doesn't say the amount because its generic, whereas the pets mart stuff says it is a MIN of 17.5% calcium and a MAX of 21.0% calcium.

so im torn. go with the unknown entity or the known entity. does anyone know how much calcium is too much? too be honest, the pets mart stuff looks much better quality. it has slightly bigger pebbles. The other one looks like its sand with tiny gravel pieces in it.

further info:

Pets Mart Grit: KAYTEE Hi-Cal Grit. Ingredients: Granite grit, Oyster shell, Calcium Carbonate, Decalcium Phosphate, Salt, Charcoal, Mineral Oil, Oramge Oil, Zinc Oxide, Manganous Oxide, Ferrous Carbonate, Copper Oxide, Calcium Iodate, Cobalt Carbonate.