Too much chick love?

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Catalina, Aug 4, 2007.

1. Catalina

Catalina Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 19, 2007
    Minnesota
    Is it possible to over handle chicks? I've only had my chicks for 3 days so I have zero experience.
    Two of my little cousins came over today (age 8 and 10) and they, of course, wanted to hold and play with them all the time. I made sure they kept the chicks under the heat lamp so they wouldn't get cold and told them that the chickies had to take a nap(and eat!!) every once in a while.
    Any signs to watch for- when the chicks have had enough?

2. hinkjc

hinkjc Overrun With Chickens Premium Member

Jan 11, 2007
    PA
    My concern would be lack of food/water/warmth. Also, careful that they don't get squeezed too hard. Children don't realize they're strength and don't mean any harm, but squeezing can stress the chicks. Other than that, I'd say handle as much as you like and enjoy them while they're small. They won't stay small long.

Also, it is important to practice good hygiene with children and chicks. Our first thought is how cute they are, but good hand washing after each cuddle is very important and smaller children need constant reminders until they get used to the practice. Good luck with your new chicks and have fun!

Jody

3. Alleyoops25

Alleyoops25 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 14, 2007
    Colorado