Too much chick starter!

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by DerbyChook, May 15, 2010.

1. DerbyChook

DerbyChook Songster

May 15, 2010
    Charlotte, NC
    I bought my chicks at a local hardware store. The clerk sold me a ginourmous bag of chick starter, way more than my three chicks will be able to eat before they need to switch over to grower feed. What can I do with the excess? Is there something I can mix it with to produce a feed that is appropriate for their next stage of growth?

I am new to chickens and new to Backyard Chickens, but have enjoyed lurking for the past few weeks. [​IMG]

Last edited: May 15, 2010

2. elmo

elmo Songster

May 23, 2009
    DFW
    It depends on the formulation of the feed, but usually you can continue to feed starter to hens that have begun to lay if you offer supplemental calcium (oyster shell). That's what I'm planning to do this summer since I'll only have three hens and 14 growing chicks. It has more protein than they need, but that shouldn't be a problem.

The other issue you have to consider is staleness, though. The usual rule of thumb I've read is that you should use up a bag of feed within 3 months for maximum freshness/nutrition. You can freeze some for later use, though, if you have space in your freezer.

If you're using medicated feed, though, that changes things, because you wouldn't want to be feeding that to laying hens.

p.s. By the way, your chicks might surprise you with how fast they gobble up that food. They'll be growing like weeds and they need the fuel.

Last edited: May 15, 2010
  3. acid_chipmunk

acid_chipmunk Polish Silkies d'Uccles O my!

Mar 29, 2010
    I wouldn't worry about switching to grower. Just keep them on the starter until they use it all up. They can essentially be on starter until they start laying. Where I live, they only sell Start and Grow, no separate grower.

4. DerbyChook

DerbyChook Songster

May 15, 2010
    Charlotte, NC