Too much information?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Jay1105, Jun 27, 2011.

1. Jay1105

Jay1105 Out Of The Brooder

Jun 6, 2011
    San Antonio
    Hey all. I am new to chickens and already addicted! I have 8 pullets and have had them for 4 weeks now. They are EE's and growing fast, they are just over five weeks now. I heard the hatcheries are usually about 90% accurate in sexing the chicks when selling them as pullets vs. straight run. I think they were drunk when sexing mine! I have one crowing already, a pretty sorry excuse for a crow but definatley a crow. One has a huge three row pea comb comming in bright red. I have read here about the rounded vs. the pointed hackle feathers, the larger feet, multiple rows on the pea comb, tail feathers. I think hen one day and then it crows the next. My head is swimming... My question is: Should I just wait to see if I get a crow or an egg or does someone have any suggestions on sexing these kids? I dont have a use for more than one roo since I am raising these chickens for eggs. If I had to make an educated guess as to the sexes of these chicks I am at 50/50. What to do, what to do...

2. kera!

kera! Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 1, 2011
    Navajo County
    Post Picks And Let Everyone See.

3. Momagain1

Momagain1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 13, 2011
    Central IL
    are you sure they are crowing? kinda early for that IMO...

take pics and we'll see what we can find out!!!

My roo just started really crowing and he's 18 weeks...

some of my hens clucks kinda sound like growly when they were younger...

PICS please!!

4. Jay1105

Jun 6, 2011
    San Antonio
    I am a "new egg" and dont think that is an option at this point. Or I just cant figure out how to uploda a photo. I have uploaded the pictures but cant seem to post them. Any suggestions?

5. Momagain1

Momagain1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 13, 2011
    Central IL
    I think you have to hit 10 posts???

6. JodyJo