Torn

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by Toshi, Oct 28, 2011.

1. Toshi

Toshi Chillin' With My Peeps

Jul 2, 2011
    IN corn state
    I should have moved them out sooner...But i just couldn't, it has been either raining or cold. Still i should have put them out into the barn.

My chicks are about 12 weeks old, the temp is maybe 36 outside right now. I have them somewhat covers up and a windblocker infront of them (they are in my barn) i also have a little lamp out there. Not a heat lamp just a lamp. It worries me becuase i don't wnat them to freazz to death or soemthing like that, but on the other hand if i move them in now then there is no way they will ever be able to get used to it. It is supposed to be about 35-40's as the low at nights pretty much this week, the 30's tonight and tomorrow.

This is their first night outside, am i just worrying to much? This is my first year with small chickens like that, last winter i had big birds an they were fine with the coold. But these are 12 week olds. What should i do? Leave them out, or bring them in and set myself back more? Should they be ok outside like that?

Last edited: Oct 28, 2011
  2. flspnr

flspnr Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2011
    Gibsonton, FL
    I'm not used to the cold since I'm born and raised in Florida. But from what I've read on here, they should be okay since they're fully feathered. Perhaps you can check on them a few times in the night, and if they seem entirely too cold or something, bring them back in. If they seem to be doing ok, then let them have the coop outside?

Whatever you decide, good luck! [​IMG]

3. BlazeJester

BlazeJester Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2011
    Midway, GA
    They should be totally fine at 12 weeks. My standard size barred rocks went outside at 6 weeks (in GA) and my late fall hatch this year went outside at 4wks. They had a cold snap (down to 40 degrees) around 8wks old, only 75% feathered, and were fine.