1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Total Newbie - Coop Help Please

Discussion in 'Coop & Run - Design, Construction, & Maintenance' started by nxb161, Jan 22, 2013.

1. nxb161

nxb161 Out Of The Brooder

Jan 22, 2013
    NorthEast Pennsylvania
    I am planning on getting 3 young hens this spring. This will be my first chicken experience. I don't quite trust the animals in the country to let them be free range. I am now trying to figure out what to do as far as a coop. Ideally I'd want something secure that has a run in it, but also I'd be able to move around the yard. I think it'd be nice to have part of the run sheltered from the elements as well. I am no carpenter, so I don't plan on making the coop myself. Any tips on size, style, etc would be great. Also would you guys recommend those solar powered night eyes, to keep animals from trying to break into the run/coop?

2. Lilslinkfarm

Lilslinkfarm Out Of The Brooder

Nov 18, 2012
    Jane, MO
    There are some really great ideas in the coop section of the website! Check it out if you haven't yet. Most of them have almost step by step instructions and pictures on how they built it which really help a lot!

3. Ehirning

Ehirning Out Of The Brooder

May 18, 2012
    I would go with an A-frame tractor. There are lots of ideas on this site that you could take to a handyman or carpenter to have built. Check out Craigslist for carpenters that are looking for work. You may even be able to find a used tractor or coop. Welcome to he addiction!

4. nxb161

Jan 22, 2013
    NorthEast Pennsylvania
    http://www.frugah.com/Outdoor-Farm-Chicken-Coop-p/d3-0001.htm