Total newbie.....day 22 & no signs?

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by dorpersheep, Nov 9, 2014.

1. dorpersheep

dorpersheep Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 9, 2014
    Hello everyone
    this is my first go at hatching eggs, we have had them at 37.6C and 50-52% humidity for 18 days, then 37.6C and 58%-65% humidity for 4 days and there is no sign of anything happening?

Eggs were candled at day 10 and we had around 20 that looked good (as far as I can work out, being new to this and all).

Any advice? I am reading on these threads that the last couple of days should be around 70% - as mine has been lower is there still hope for these eggs or do I have to start over? At what point do I call it quits and start again?

If I open the incubator to candle them will I finish them off if there is any life still in there? And what should I see if the eggs are still viable at this stage of the game?

Thank you in advance! I am starting to think lambs are much easier than these eggs! [​IMG]

2. Toddrick

Toddrick Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 28, 2014
    Indiana
    Did you actually see veins and movement in them? Did you verify the temps with a second thermometer?

3. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

You would have been better candling at day 7 day 14 and day 18 at lockdown. You could have had some quitters after day 10. Also in my opinion 50% humidity day 1-18 is too high. The eggs need to lose enough moisture and the air sac to grow large enough through this period of incubation so the chicks are able to pip into the air sac and hatch successfully. I find 45% ample for moisture loss and 65% for hatching good. Have you been turning the eggs day1-18?

If the air sac dosnt grow large enough the chick can pip into the air sac and drown because the egg has not lost enough moisture.

21 days is just a guide line for eggs some hatch sooner and others hatch later.