total newbie.... my 15 yr old son has interest in having chickens for egggs.. will this structure wo

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by j72397, Jun 6, 2016.

1. j72397

j72397 New Egg

Jun 6, 2016
    This is a large area fenced with an old dog house. It is empty inside. What would I have to do to make this structure work for about 5 chickens?[​IMG]

2. Pork Pie Ken

Pork Pie Ken Monkey Business Premium Member

Jan 30, 2015
    Africa - near the equator
    Hi and welcome to BYC - glad that you have joined us. I'd suggest posting your question in the "coops and runs" forum, including dimensions of the structure, for the best advice. Also include where you live, as prevailing weather conditions can also be a factor in design.

All the best
    CT

3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Rule of thumb 4-5 sq.feet per bird in the coop excluding nest box and roosts, and 10 sq.feet per bird in the outdoor run. Also they would need ventilation - and doors that can be closed up at dusk to keep predators out.

4. BantamFan4Life

BantamFan4Life LOOK WHAT YOU MADE ME DO. Premium Member

Jun 15, 2012
    Washington
    My Coop
    Welcome to BYC! I'm glad you joined us! :)

5. Yorkshire Coop

Yorkshire Coop Moderator Staff Member

Aug 16, 2014
    Yorkshire, UK
    My Coop
    Hi :welcome

Glad you could join the flock! I'm sure the peeps in the coop and run section will able to help you out.

Wishing you the very best of luck and enjoy your time here on BYC :frow

6. rebrascora

rebrascora Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 14, 2014
    Consett Co.Durham. UK
    Hi and welcome.