Total newbie questions about raising our first pheasant eggs

Discussion in 'Pheasants and Partridge (Chukar)' started by adshea, Oct 13, 2012.

1. adshea

adshea Out Of The Brooder

Apr 16, 2012
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Hi

I'm hoping someone can help by answering a couple of really basic questions. We've had 3 golden pheasants for a year now (2 girls and a guy), and we've just seen our first eggs in the aviary. It's very exciting, but we're very lost. I've read as many articles as I can find online, but they all seem to assume some knowledge and skip the basic questions... which is making it hard for us to figure out what we should do next.

• First off - the four eggs are all scattered around the aviary - 2 in the hutch, one under a bush, and another out in the open... is normal? or are our girls a bit forgetful? should we gather them up and put them together in the hutch? at the moment we've brought them inside where its warmer.

• How long can the eggs be cold for after they're laid and still be good? The eggs are all cold, and may have been there in the open for a day or so at about 10 Celcius / 50 F. Are they still ok? I have kind of gathered from reading articles about incubation that the eggs can be left "cold" for around 10 days before they have to go in an incubator. Does this mean that so long as we incubate them or give them back to the girls soon they should be ok?

• Oh, and would it be best to incubate them or gather them up into a nest for the girls and hope they do the job themselves? Does the fact they've scattered them all over the place so far suggest they're not the best mums (this is their first laying season - so they're probably as confused as us!)