Total NEWBIE!

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by torretornado, Nov 10, 2016.

1. torretornado

torretornado Just Hatched

Nov 10, 2016
    Massachusetts
    Hi everyone! My name is Torre. We have settled into our new home and have started thinking about some laying hens. I'm totally green and would love some direction on where to start!

We are in Gardner, MA. Obviously we need cold hardy chickens! I know our city has no ordinances against chickens and the Farming Act in MA technically gives me the right to have hens, is it advisable to call the city and verify, first?

We are thinking 4-5 hens. What types are best for the cold weather? Thanks so much for reading! happy to be here!

Last edited: Nov 10, 2016
  2. Chicken Girl1

Chicken Girl1 Stuck back in the 40s Premium Member

Mar 3, 2015
    Virginia
    Hello from Virginia[​IMG]and Welcome to BYC!

I would first check our the "learning center" for helpful articles. A few breeds I personally like are Australorps, Orpingtons, Plymouth Rocks, and Wyandottes. If you have any specific questions feel free to ask!

3. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, Torre, and :welcome! Great to have you aboard and welcome to the chicken lifestyle! :yiipchick
    I think you should call your city just to make sure. You wouldn't want to go to the time and expense of doing all that's required only to learn there was an ordinance against it. If there is a prohibition against them you can research how to turn the ordinance around in this link: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/37/local-chicken-laws-ordinances-and-how-to-change-them
    A great place to begin your chicken journey would be the Learning Center here: https://www.backyardchickens.com/atype/1/Learning_Center
    It is loaded with informative article spanning the entire gamut of chicken raising.