Toulouse with heavy limp in right leg

Discussion in 'Geese' started by catman88, Mar 22, 2013.

1. catman88

catman88 New Egg

Mar 22, 2013
    I have a Toulouse goose with a bad limp in the right leg. It has been going on for two weeks and has steadily worsened. She can support herself on it and was in fact able to run when I caught her. The leg's joint appears to be warmer than the other suggesting minor inflammation?? She is on a steady feed and I am giving her 2 cc's B-complex by mouth daily and 200 IU's Vit-E daily. Is this a tendon or muscular problem? All suggestions are appreciated as I have little experience with geese and primarily raise chickens.

2. Miss Lydia

Miss Lydia Running over with Blessings Premium Member

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Welcome, I'm not sure what the problem might be, and hope others chime in but I just wanted to say keep her in a space where she doens't have to walk around a lot, rest would be good right now. and maybe even some swim time to take the pressure off her leg and water therapy to strengthen the leg again. Sometimes with just rest things get back to normal. I hope thats the case with your goose. did you check her feet just make sure she hasn't cut herself or gotten something in it?.and if she is stressed by herself maybe another goose to keep her company.

Last edited: Mar 22, 2013
  3. catman88

catman88 New Egg

Mar 22, 2013
    Thank you for responding! I have her in a horse stall with her bosum buddy. As for a cut or contusion of any type, there is no physical signs of damage. When she swims, I can't remember but one leg flailed above the surface. Maybe overcorrecting for the hurt leg?

4. Miss Lydia

Oct 3, 2009
    Western N.C.
    Sounds like your doing the right thing for her, keep her quite with her buddy and swim therapy and maybe add some vitamins to her water, can't hurt when they are fighting an issue. Please keep us posted, thanks.

5. Tivona

Tivona Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 2, 2011
    Oregon