Tractor supply company said they were bantam silkies! WRONG!!!!

MamaCoop0609

In the Brooder
May 6, 2017
Jefferson, MD
I'm having the exact same problem! I'm new to backyardchickens.com and I'm not sure how to post my own problem yet! LOL. I bought six Bantums from my local tractor supply company, they said that they were silkies! Only today did I realize they didn't have feathered feet nor five toes and were not silkies! They are now six weeks old, purchased at approximately two days old. With all the googling I've done and the information in my head from the past 48 hours I'm going nuts!!! I can't seem to find any chick that looks like mine! The closest I came to was your Bantam #2!! They basically all have the same markings, I just want to know what I'm getting myself into, I need to know what my feather babies are! Can anyone help!?

And this guy, out of six chicks is the only one that has these markings. The gray head, the big red-ish pink crow. I'd like to know if they are all the same breed and maybe he is just the Roo in the family? Dear God please someone help!

It looks like you got golden seabrights. They are a true bantam. That means there is not a larger version. The roos are hen feathered so will not get the pointed hackle or saddle feathers. They can fly very very well. In the first pic I think I see a roo. The comb is larger and redder.

The last pic is a birchen pattern and looks like an old english to me. They can also fly very well. Oh and at the age you list that one is likely a male.

And welcome to an adventure!

Last edited: