Training chicks to Roost

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by Chickens by the Sea, Nov 17, 2008.

1. Chickens by the Sea

Chickens by the Sea Out Of The Brooder

Oct 21, 2008
    Ventura, CA
    I am sure this question has been asked on this site a million times, but I am a newbie, so here goes. We have our 5 week old chicks out in the run (mild weather, with heat at night), and I am helping them up the ladder into their coop every night at dusk. Is this something they will figure out how to do on their own when they get older? Is this the way to teach them??

Also, they show no interest in sleeping anywhere other than the floor right now. We have a roost 2 feet up ready for them- will they just sort of do this on their own as well?

Thanks!

2. smith2

smith2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 5, 2008
    Paris, TN
    Mine have always just sort of figured it out on their own. [​IMG]

3. Heather J

Heather J Chillin' With My Peeps

May 29, 2008
    Yes, your chickens will eventually figure out to go into the coop on their own at night. If you are hurrying them along before the dusk really starts to set in, they may not be quite ready for bed. If you wait a few more minutes they may go in on their own....on the other hand, some are just stubborn.