Training dogs off the chickens

Discussion in 'Predators and Pests' started by Gray Ghost, May 24, 2010.

1. Gray Ghost

Gray Ghost Chillin' With My Peeps

Feb 13, 2010
    There have been a lot of posts wondering whether dogs can be trained not to molest chickens. In general, I am with those who think dogs can be trained to co-exist with chickens. I thought I would give my experience.

I have two Labrador retrievers ages 9 (Rex) and 10 (Diana). Both have been bird dogs -- flushers and retreivers -- all their lives. They have been trained and encouraged to chase, catch and retreive pheasants, grouse, ducks and other birds very similar to chickens. I am an experienced amateur bird dog trainer, having trained both these dogs and one previous Labrador besides.

I decided this spring to get chickens for the first time. I kept my flock of 15 sex-links (and one mistake Cornish Rock meat chicken) in a closed brooder out in the coop, and now the chickens are 6 weeks old and are free in the coop and they free-range outdoors daily.

At first I simply kept the dogs and chickens separate, always locking up one or the other. But that is not a long term solution and not fair to either. So I started to train the dogs not to molest the chickens. The dogs were of course EXTREMELY INTERESTED in the chicks at first. They would run over to the closed coop and sniff around. I would let them in the coop and they would sniff around and look into the (closed) brooder. After they got used to the presence of the chickens I started telling the dogs "No! Leave it!" whenever they sniffed around the brooder. This got the dogs used to the idea that the chickens are not necessarily there to be chased or molested.