treats for chicks/Outside playtime temp

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by chickadeedoodah, Apr 15, 2008.

1. chickadeedoodah

chickadeedoodah Out Of The Brooder

Apr 9, 2008
    littleton co
    My chicks are about 2 weeks old. I am new to this and I am wondering what types of treats I can give them. I have tried yogurt because it was recommended in the book I have but they would not touch it. I tried plain and strawberry. Are they still too young?
    I tried a little bit of oatmeal which they did like but then realized maybe they are supposed to have grit with that. (?) The feed store told me I did not need grit for chicks. When do I add this to their diet?

Also, should I be turning off the heat lamp (red bulb) at all or leave it on 24/7? The book said to turn it off for 1/2 hour each day to get them used to lights out but when I do this they huddle together. I am sure they are cold so we never make the 1/2 hour.

When can I take them outside to play? Is there a minimum temp? I know it is important to keep them warm. I live in Colorado and today is supposed to be near 80 degrees.

A million questions... Sorry!

When do I clip their wing?

I appreciate any advice--Thanks!!

2. NewGuineaChooks

NewGuineaChooks Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 24, 2007
    San Antonio, Texas
    I'll only answer a couple of your questions here.... Check the sticky thread at the top of the "Feeding Time" section, to read more about treats. Chicks can be scared of strange and new things, so time and continued exposure will probably get them used to things like yogurt. But, since they are not interested in it yet, I would just wait a few more weeks before offering the treats to them. The chick feed is adequate nutrition. As long as they are only eating chick feed, they don't need grit. When they start eating other things too, they need the grit to help digest it.

I leave the heat lamp on 24/7 but others turn it off. Its up to you, really.