1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Treats for chicks

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by ktklages, Jan 9, 2013.

1. ktklages

ktklages Out Of The Brooder

Dec 15, 2012
    I'm new to the whole chicken experience and I'm curious as to when I can give my chicks some treats and what would be great to give them. They are currently less than a week old; exactly 6 days now. They're all doing great and they've been eating their medicated crumbles just fine, I just thought it might be nice to give them some variety from time to time. On a side note, I haven't had any pastings issues whatsoever... Not that I'm complaining, but is there a point in when I don't have to check their little rear ends anymore?

2. JaxGrits

JaxGrits Out Of The Brooder

Dec 4, 2012
    North Florida
    My chicks are six weeks old and only recently became interested in treats. Figuring out their food and water was enough for them to worry about when they were 1-4 weeks old and I didn't want them to get confused and think the treats were their food because that chick starter has a lot of nutrients that they need to grow. Now my chicks love rice, grapes (cut up), cracker crumbles, strawberries (cut up) and dried meal worms. We started giving them mealworms as a treat at 4 weeks and they really liked those.

3. sumi

sumi Égalité Staff Member

Jun 28, 2011
    Rep of Ireland
    You can start giving them plain yoghurt, dried mealworms, fresh greens chopped into small pieces and scrambled egg, but only in small amounts so their diet still mainly consist of chick crumble. Also: it's very important that you give them grit in some shape or form when they eat treats, to help them digest it. This can be chick grit or coarse sand sprinkled over their food.

4. ktklages

Dec 15, 2012