1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Trimming beak on cross beaked?

Discussion in 'Managing Your Flock' started by koakritters, Jun 5, 2011.

1. koakritters

koakritters Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 27, 2011
    Petaluma
    I've been reading that you can trim/file down the beaks, and i want to try it on my little cross beaked, however i haven't found a "right" or a "wrong" way to do it. can someone give me instructions, or point me in the right direction, so i know what i'm doing when i try this? I'd hate to hurt her somehow by doing it wrong, i'm hoping she can eat a bit better this way, she's doing pretty good, but still not as big as her siblings. [​IMG]

2. flnatv

flnatv Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 7, 2011
    West Tennessee
    bump

I have no experience, but I did see someone used one of those pedipaws to grind top and bottom a little.
    Hope this may help get you some answers.

3. ElioraImmanuel

ElioraImmanuel Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 8, 2010
    I's like to know the answer to this question, too.[​IMG]

4. Chickensman97

Chickensman97 Out Of The Brooder

Mar 19, 2010
    Cromwell, CT
    With my cross beak, I took a pair of nail clippers and cut the beak as close as I could so that it wouldn't bleed, if yours starts to bleed a little you can put some flour on it to help it stop.

5. JosieChick

JosieChick Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2010
    Lyman, ME