Trouble getting right temperature

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by amsunshine, Mar 22, 2013.

1. amsunshine

amsunshine Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 24, 2010
    Kansas
    This is my first time hatching any eggs. These are chicken eggs. I bought a used incubator, and also a new one. Styrofoam type--for hobbyists. Today is hatch day and I've been a nervous wreck the past 3 weeks. I have two frustrations.

#1 is not being able to find a thermometer with decimal places. The used one didn't come with one. I did find a nice thermometer/hygrometer at Wal-Mart, but again it's whole numbers.

#2 is that it's darn hard to control the temp. I've been staying at 99 rather than 100, as the optimal temp for chickens is 99.5. If I turn that dial ever so slightly, sometimes it's either 97, 100, or 102 and nothing in between. Even if I do get to 99, which I've succeeded at quite a bit, I'm never sure that that's exactly where I want to be: is it 99.4? 99.3? 99.5 would round up to 100, but 100 is too hot for little chickies.

Some of the eggs are rocking in shaking in my new incubator, the hatching one without the turner, but I don't see any pips yet. I'm fearing I haven't controlled the temp, or even gotten to the right temp, and none will hatch.

Please help, and thanks in advance. If my hatch doesn't turn out correctly, I want to know how to do it right, because I'd like to try again. Surely it isn't this hard.

2. mnferalkitty

mnferalkitty Chillin' With My Peeps

May 17, 2012
    Minnesota
    I always aim for 99-100 sometimes it has been lower and in that case it just takes them longer to develop so delays hatch day by a day or 2. I dry hatch everything so I don't really pay attention to the humidity. They rock and roll for awhile before they hatch and it can take them some time to do that so don't get too worried [​IMG]

3. amsunshine

Mar 24, 2010
    Kansas