Trouble in chick paradise

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by Hmarsh16, Apr 19, 2017.

1. Hmarsh16

Hmarsh16 New Egg

Apr 19, 2017
    I'm new to this but, I'm desperate for some information and help. I have had one successful chick hatch and its doing really well, I've had two eggs explode in the incubator (which smelled terrible) and currently I have a chick that started to hatch but has appeared to have died and isn't peeping. Does anyone know why I could be having such tough luck?

2. PD-Riverman

PD-Riverman Overrun With Chickens

Jan 14, 2012
    Conway SC
    OK, to start with---the exploding egg were probably because you did not candle and remove them/bad ones earlier. Exploding/bad eggs can cause problems just from the gasses they put off.

Now what type/name incubator are you using? What was your temp running through out the hatch? What was your humidity for the incubation and did you raise it for the hatch? Are you a hands-on-hatcher open the incubator when you want no mater whats happening inside or hands-off-hatcher--leave it closed no matter whats happening inside?

Last edited: Apr 19, 2017
  3. PD-Riverman

Jan 14, 2012
    Conway SC
    Anyone can get lucky once in a while and have a good hatch, but it takes more than just sticking eggs in a incubator to have good hatches---every hatch. You have to learn, what to do and what to not do. I know you can ask for help and get 20 different answers----I have read/seen post of people telling others how to hatch/incubate---then this person admit they have not hatched any yet---just read that info. If you want to have a good hatches, you need to start with a good teacher, a teacher that has very good hatches personally, not someone that got their info just from reading.

4. Hmarsh16

Hmarsh16 New Egg

Apr 19, 2017

5. Hmarsh16

Hmarsh16 New Egg

Apr 19, 2017