Trouble with candeling.........

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by standardbanty, Apr 18, 2009.

1. standardbanty

standardbanty Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2008
    Maryland
    I have about 20 bantam brahma eggs. I try to candle with a powerful flashlight (high power millitary grade) and i dont seem to get anything in the eggs. Do you have trouble candleing these eggs. Also this is my first time and I plan to leave all of them in the incubator is that safe to do? Thanks- Joe

2. al6517

al6517 Real Men can Cook

May 13, 2008
    At what day are you candling, it is allways easier to candle on day 10.

AL

3. standardbanty

standardbanty Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 8, 2008
    Maryland
    What should i see on day 10?

4. al6517

al6517 Real Men can Cook

May 13, 2008
    you should see some veining, and possibly a definite small dark spot (embryo) and some movement. you must make sure you have a totally dark room and a good seal on the flashlight/egg point.

AL

5. 77horses

77horses ◊The Spontaneous Pullet!◊

Aug 19, 2008
    [CONFIDENTIAL]
    Quote:a network of veins, the embryo bobbing around...

Here's a pic of what you should see around day 10:
    http://www.wunderground.com/data/wximagenew/a/AKSnowLuvr/96.jpg (notice the dark spot(yolk and chick) and the veins around them. When you candle, you should also see the chick's eye(which will appear as a dark circle moving around). [​IMG]

Here are some more helpful websites:
    http://www.enchantedlearning.com/subjects/birds/label/chickenegg10days/answers.shtml

http://shilala.homestead.com/candling.html

http://www.nifty-stuff.com/candling-eggs.php (scroll down to watch a video of candling an egg- you can see the chick moving around inside!) [​IMG]

Good luck!

6. sallywilliams

sallywilliams New Egg

Apr 17, 2009
  7. peepinglaura

peepinglaura Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 9, 2009