Trusting my rooster

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by Crystal1970, Jan 5, 2017.

1. Crystal1970

Crystal1970 New Egg

Dec 7, 2016
    I am new to chickens, I had two silkie hens given to me built a great coop and run for them and then got a young silkie rooster. The other day, in the middle of the day, I found my one hen at the front of the pen dead the rooster close by but no blood on him. She had head trauma :( I've never seen him do anything really aggressive, chased slightly, but I'm guessing it was him and I'm devastated. The other hen is my layer and seems fine. The deceased was not a layer and I worried occasionally she wasn't well, but thought she was getting better. I had cured a sore foot and she seemed ok.
    Do I need to rehome this guy???

2. redsoxs

redsoxs Chicken Obsessed

Jul 17, 2011
    North Central Kansas
    Greetings from Kansas, Crystal1970, and :welcome! Great to have you aboard but sorry about your hen. I know nothing of Silkie roosters but have heard the hens are ultra gentle. Not saying it couldn't have been him but that seems atypical to me. When you say trauma, what does that look like? Open wounds or just bruising? BYC is abound with stories of chickens who that have died for no known reason or have had an accident - like falling off the roost and breaking their neck. I would monitor him with the remaining hen...seems to me that if he is aggressive it wouldn't be selective and that he wouldn't just turn it on and off. Just my thoughts....others will likely chime in with other opinions. Whatever you decide, best wishes and thanks for joining BYC!

3. N F C

N F C dem crazy bones Premium Member

Dec 12, 2013
    Wyoming
    [​IMG]

What an awful thing to lose 1 of your 3 that way. I have lost chickens unexpectedly and for no apparent reason, it does always make you wonder why. I can't say if it's your rooster or not so Redsoxs suggestion to monitor him for a while makes sense. Sorry for your loss.

4. Teila