Trying again with this girl's breed-any ideas?

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by Ksane, Dec 1, 2011.

1. Ksane

Ksane Overrun With Chickens

Jun 21, 2011
    Oklahoma
    I posted 3 or 4 months ago about this girl right after I got her and some said Gold Necked Marans and 1 lady said Crele (?). She's about 5-6 mo old now and is pretty good sized, she's going to be a little bigger than my sex links and she's already taller than them. She was sold to the girl I got her from as a Marans, we don't know though.
    Can anyone hazard a guess as to her breed? I've got her in with 4 Cuckoo Marans and she looks to have the same pattern as them except for the gold neck (but I'm far from an expert with color patterns). You can see the other Marans girl in the background.
    [​IMG]

2. jeslewmazer

jeslewmazer Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 24, 2009
    Mississippi
    She looks like a mix to me.

3. Chinchilla2

Chinchilla2 Chillin' With My Peeps

Jun 9, 2011
    Red Rock
    Quote:She looks a bit like some of the Marans girls over there on the Marans board. Don't know if there is such a variety as a Gold Necked Marans but she does resemble some of the Black Copper pullets. You might try posting a pic of her on those boards and see if anyone can help you out.

4. Ksane

Jun 21, 2011
    Oklahoma
    Good suggestion, Chinchilla. I hadn't even thought of that, duh lol

5. BlazeJester

BlazeJester Chillin' With My Peeps

Aug 2, 2011
    Midway, GA
    She definitely has barring; maybe a cross between black copper marans and cuckoo? But of course genetics is not as simple as just a meshing of colors. Beautiful bird, either way! Does she lay dark brown eggs?

6. Ksane

Jun 21, 2011
    Oklahoma
    Quote:She hasn't started laying but she's close to it.

7. aubreynoramarie

aubreynoramarie designated lawn flamingo

May 27, 2010
    Reno, Nevada
    she has no feathers on her legs though?

8. kari_dawn

kari_dawn Chillin' With My Peeps

Nov 2, 2009