Trying to figure out guinea color

Discussion in 'Guinea Fowl' started by froggie71, Nov 17, 2009.

1. froggie71

froggie71 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 18, 2009
    Shamong, NJ
    I've been trying to figure out this guinea hen's color since we got her. I've looked at some of the sites that show colors, but I still can't tell. Anyone have any idea?
    Kiss
    [​IMG]

I think she has really neat looking legs.
    [​IMG]

This is Bliss (she is a lavender), Kiss (?) and Hershey ( I thought he was a chocolate, but now think he is just a pearl gray with white) He and Bliss do have white on their outer wings.
    [​IMG]

2. floridamama

floridamama Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 17, 2009
    Polk City
    Hi love the pictures. I own a few myself. I am still learning which one is what color. Does Kiss have a purplish hue to her is the sunlight? if she does she might be the hard to get purple, shes not full purple but still cool on her markings.

3. LCwilson

LCwilson Chillin' With My Peeps

Oct 15, 2009
    southeastern ohio
    bliss is a lavender, kiss is a royal purple and hershey is i think a pearl pied but im not sure.

4. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 the bird is the word

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY
    Quote:I don't believe royal purples are supposed to be pearled? I'll have to check on that though. But Hershey is a pied pearl.

ETA: I was wrong, they are supposed to be partially pearled. So I agree that she is royal purple. Here is a good color chart that has helped me quite a bit. http://www.guineafowlinternational.org/colorchart/

Last edited: Nov 17, 2009
  5. froggie71

Apr 18, 2009
    Shamong, NJ
    Yes, Kiss does have the purple hue in the sunlight. I think you are right. I was hoping she was a royal purple. She is definitely a really pretty color. Have to say she is my favorite. I wasn't sure that Hershey would be considered a pied, but after look at that color chart I see that he is! [​IMG]

6. shelleyd2008

Sep 14, 2008
    Adair Co., KY