Trying to identify my chicks

Discussion in 'What Breed Or Gender is This?' started by teachag, Dec 5, 2013.

1. teachag

teachag New Egg

Dec 5, 2013
    Hi! This is my first post on this board. I am an Ag teacher and we have recently hatched out 35 chicks from 3 different flocks. We know the breeds but now we need help identifying which chicks are what. We have a pretty good idea but would like some reassurance. Here is what we have
    Ameraucana
    Black Jersey Giant
    Black Sex Link x Ameraucana
    White Leghorn x Ameraucana
    Rhode Island Red x Red Comet

Also what color eggs would the white leghorn x Ameraucana produce and will the RIR x RC be sex linked too?

Here are a few picks and what we have concluded it is.
    [​IMG]
    Black Jersey Giant?

[​IMG]
    Black Sex Link x Ameraucana?
    [​IMG]
    RIR x Red Comet female? I have a few solid white/light yellow ones that I think are the males.

[​IMG]
    Ameraucana?

[​IMG]
    White Leghorn x Ameraucana? It has a brown dot on the head. There are a few white/light yellow ones that have one or two small brown markings on head or back.

2. RoostersCrow HensDeliver!

RoostersCrow HensDeliver! Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2011
    SE Michigan
    First of all : Hi! [​IMG]

It is going to be pretty hard to tell what chicks are mixed with what at this "fluff" age. The Ameraucana ( or more likely Easter Egger) mixes can have beards or green legs but they don't always get those traits so its not super reliable. If any chicks do have green legs or beards, then they do have at least 1 EE parent.

An Ameraucana X Leghorn should lay blue eggs.
    An Easter Egger X Leghorn can lay blue,green,brown, or pinkish. An EE is a bird with a lot of Ameraucana in its ancestry that also has brown and white egg layers mixed in there as well. Most hatcheries actually sell EEs but market them as the purebred Ameraucana. So anything having to do with EE is a SURPRISE! egg color and feather color included [​IMG]