TSC Pullets New Hampshire Reds and Golden Comets

Discussion in 'General breed discussions & FAQ' started by vanalpaca, Mar 19, 2011.

1. vanalpaca

vanalpaca Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 18, 2011
    Clyde in NW Ohio
    Ok, so I am new to chicks and got New Hampshire Reds and Golden Comets from Tractor Supply this last weekend. My chicks are 2 weeks, 1 week, and a few days old from whatever hatchery TSC uses in Ohio.

I have figured out from this site what the Comets should look like (all hens), but I am a bit confused about what the New Hampshire Reds WILL look like. Anyone else have photos of the reds that TSC sells?

Also, how TALL do each of the breeds get, as I am building chicken tractors, nest boxes and an inside winter coop in Zone 5 Ohio for them. I read that I need 2 square feet of inside space and 3 square feet of outside/run space, but nothing on heights and nest boxes YET.

Photos of chick growth/ages ALSO APPRECIATED. They are under brooder lights in the basement in cardboard boxes and I'm thinking to build the coop part of the chicken tractors for their basement/growing space until temps are higher and they can go outside, but have to make them small enough to fit through the doorway, so maybe just a larger box for brooder now.

Thanks for your advice!

2. Fred's Hens

Fred's Hens Chicken Obsessed Premium Member

A New Hampshire (not a NH Red) is a large, orange/red bird. They are reasonably rare, if one is being picky about a show level bird. What hatcheries call NH Reds are a blend of various strains. Hens will still go 6.5 - 7.5 lbs, and 18" tall, at full erect, so they aren't tiny birds. The Comets will be somewhat smaller.

Since deep snow cover will keep them "house bound" for long, long winter periods, I'd forget the 2 square feet and double that. Sincerely. Crowding leads to boredom and other issues. We should give them as much space as possible.