Turkey, Duck,and three breeds of hens in one incubator

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by husnain83, Feb 25, 2014.

1. husnain83

husnain83 New Egg

Feb 24, 2014
    Hi friends,

Its my first time on this forum, and i am also a newbie in incubation, bought an automatic 48 egg incubator, so far it is going fine; i have following confusions, would be really thankful if someone could clarify plz,

1. Duck, turkey and chicken eggs at 37.7 and 58% humidity, would it work if all eggs are fertile ? should i adjust it ?
    2. What should i do after 18 days in this situation ?
    3. I am at 7th day, what should i expect to see in all three types of eggs if i candle?
    4. I candled a few, they are dark on one side (4/5th), and rest is bright, are they ok ? when should i decide to throw away non-ferile ones and how do i recognize those ?
    5. How often can i take them out for candling and does that effect incubation ?

I am really confused on these things, googled a bit and found variety of answers :(

Husnain

2. IncubatorWarehouse.com

IncubatorWarehouse.com Chillin' With My Peeps

Sep 23, 2009
    Fruitland, ID
    Hi I'm Steve from IncubatorWarehouse.com. Congratulations on starting your first hatch! Your hatch will work, although the hatch rate may be a bit lower for a few reasons:

Duck eggs require a slightly higher humidity (50-60% whereas chicken and turkey require 45-50%). I would recommend bringing your humidity down to around 50% to meet in the middle.

The incubation period is also longer for Turkey and Duck which is 28 days. Chickens only take 21 days. You can refer to this chart for more on incubation periods.

After day 18, if you're using an auto egg turner, remove the chicken eggs and the racks from the turner and place the eggs where you removed the racks. This will allow the duck and turkey eggs to continue turning for a few more days.