1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

turkey opinions

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by vortec, Apr 6, 2009.

1. vortec

vortec Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 29, 2009
    Martin County, NC
    As turkey season nears, I am now kicking myself for not thinking of this sooner. Why not put a turkey on the farm where there are no turkeys in that specific area that is owned by us, to try to draw in wild turkeys so I don't have to go with other people on their land, which usually involves traveling, time, etc. What breeds would you reccomend to serve this purpose? Would a tom or hen be best for this? Thanks in advance!

vortec

Also, for all of the turkey owners, do you eat the eggs the turkey hens lay? I have had zero experience with turkeys so I haven't a clue.

2. Struttn1

Struttn1 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2008
    Southern Illinois
    If there are no wild turkeys there then something besides tame turkeys is absent from the area. If it was prime turkey habitat they would already be there.

3. vortec

Jan 29, 2009
    Martin County, NC
    Turkeys are there, they just do not roost on our land. Every once in a great while you will hear a tom back in the woods, early in the morning. And here in Eastern NC, they are scattered all throughout the woods around the roanoke river. Its my belief that a tame turkey will draw the wild ones to my land and hopefully I will get a resident flock. Being the big turkey hunter I am, that would be a dream come true.

Still looking for suggestions and experience with different breeds.

vortec

4. Struttn1

Struttn1 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 4, 2008
    Southern Illinois