Turkey won;t eat and has rattly breathing. Help!

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by Astrolover13, Aug 7, 2014.

1. Astrolover13

Astrolover13 In the Brooder

Jun 6, 2012
    Yesterday my turkey was fine and acting normal. She was eating and following me around and was letting me pet her. Today she seems very reserved, she won't eat, and when she breathes she sounds very rattily and flemmy. I've looked at a list of diseases and there's just so many I have no clue what it is. I'm hoping it's not blackhead because I haven't noticed any yellow diarrhea. Also, she has a blue head (Royal Palm) so it's hard to tell if she is turning blue/purple from blackhead. Please help identify the disease and how I can help treat her, She's my baby girl, like a dog, and I don't want to lose her. Thank you.

2. Eggcessive

Eggcessive Free Ranging Premium Member

Apr 3, 2011
    southern Ohio
    It doesn't sound like blackhead or histomonas, but I'm not a turkey expert. Turkeys can get mycoplasma (MG or CRD) and coryza which can cause respiratory symptoms. Antibiotics such as Tylan injections or Tylan powder or oxytetracycline in the water may help treat symptoms. Some strains are milder than others. Coryza tends to have a rotten odor. Unfortunately these are contagious (to other fowl) and carrier diseases for life. Read down this list of common diseases, and you will find information on those two: http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/ps044

3. Astrolover13

Jun 6, 2012
    Thank you. I am treating her with an oral dose of Tylan 50 (1cc) twice a day. I have been force feeding her dog food and banana. I've heard about scrambled egg but unfortunately I cooked all I had last night before I realized she was sick.

Her symptoms:
    Rattly breathing (no discharge)
    VERY runny feces but not too yellow (some yellow but also some dark brown)
    Lethargy
    Does not want to eat or drink