Two day old chicks beating up weaker one

Discussion in 'Quail' started by Sweetjelly, Jan 2, 2011.

1. Sweetjelly

Sweetjelly Out Of The Brooder

Sep 20, 2010
    Hello, This is my first time ever with quail and three babies hatched yesterday. Our joy has since turned into high anxiety and "OMG what should we do?". Is it normal behavior for one chick to peck and grab and bite and pull another all over the brooder? Can serious damage be done to each other and should I separate them? They have food and water and temp of 100 but one seems particularly aggressive and the later hatchling is not as strong as the other two. I've read about cannibalism in adult quail if they are overcrowded but this is not the case and the babes are only 2 days old! I need helpful advice quickly...I'm afraid for them. Thanks in advance.

2. mhwc56

mhwc56 Chillin' With My Peeps

what kind of quail?
    Is there blood anywhere ? They are all somewhat attracted to blood so once there's a small wound ,get the chick out of there so it can heal.
    Is it still only the 1 chick beating up the younger? There may be something physically wrong with the 1 chick that you cannot see but it can....
    perhaps separating the 1 mean chick until more hatch out then try them back together again?

edited cuz i didn't read the ? correctly the 1st time....[​IMG]

Last edited: Jan 2, 2011
  3. Sweetjelly

Sep 20, 2010

Here is my divided brooder. It'll work in the short run but another babe is hatching out right now in the incubator and I can't keep dividing this box any further.
    Help me please

4. Sweetjelly

Sep 20, 2010