Two roosters

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions' started by candkbowden, Feb 11, 2017.

1. candkbowden

candkbowden Out Of The Brooder

Feb 11, 2017
    Richmond County NC
    Hello and good evening I just this week have gotten two roosters and two hens form different people the two roosters are brothers is it ok to keep them in same coop with the two new hens or is this a bad idea

2. Teila

Teila Bambrook Bantams Premium Member

G’Day from down under candkbowden [​IMG] Welcome!

I have no experience with roosters, we are not allowed to have them. However, through lots of reading on BYC over the years, I have learned that hens suffer badly from over mating issues if the hen to rooster ratio is not a good one. Two roosters and two hens is not a good ratio and I believe not only will your hens be over mated, your boys will probably also fight over them.

But, as I said, that is just what I have gleaned from reading and hopefully someone with rooster experience will also chime in.

You might want to also pop in and say hello on your local thread: https://www.backyardchickens.com/f/26/where-am-i-where-are-you ‘Find your State’s thread.

I hope you enjoy being a BYC member. There are lots of friendly and very helpful folks here so not only is it overflowing with useful information it is also a great place to make friends and have some fun. Unlike non chicken loving friends, family and colleagues, BYC’ers never tire of stories or pictures that feature our feathered and non feathered friends [​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 11, 2017
  3. drumstick diva

drumstick diva Still crazy after all these years. Premium Member

Aug 26, 2009
    Out to pasture
    Generally one rooster can handle 10 hens, less than that and the poor girls can be damaged. For two roosters you would need 20 hens. If you don't intend to sell or hatch fertile eggs, the hens will be thrilled if there were NO roosters. They will continue to lay the same amount of eggs - albeit non fertile ones.