two sided controvesy with last three day eggs in incubator.... expert advice needed...

Discussion in 'Ducks' started by Kendell, Aug 16, 2013.

1. Kendell

Kendell Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2013
    orange grove, texas
    ok its my first time trying to hatch duck eggs, well someone i live by says shes done it for years and had no problems and she will add eggs as there layed to her incubator and that its not true that if you open the incubator it will mess up membrane of egg on last three days before hatching!!!! but then i have another lady off here telling me its most important thang is never open incubator for eggs on last three days before hatching becasue it will mess up membrane... so therefore can not add in more eggs in incubator one theres eggs already in there... i myself dont know what really true or the best to do and i want healthy good hatched eggs and the best results as in more eggs hatching...so im asking if anyone really knows what is suppose to be done please inform me... i have the first egg my ducks ever layed in the incubator right now by itself.. so far my duck has been laying everyday so there are two sitting out in the pen and so far mom is not laying on there but then again im still waiting for her to get a clutch of her eggs and hopefully she will start laying on them... so then after my first single egg incubation is done in 28 days then ill wait for a full clutch and put those in my incubator together... just any info. advice anyone can share ill be appreciated to listen... i want to do my most for these duck and not doing the wrong things!!!

2. Kendell

Kendell Out Of The Brooder

Aug 15, 2013
    orange grove, texas