two turkey quick qestions

Discussion in 'Turkeys' started by Evelle, Sep 16, 2011.

1. Evelle

Evelle Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 27, 2011
    North Idaho
    1. how old do they start to mature i have two that still look very small i think i got them in mid may.

2. im kinda new to raising turkeys and my white turkey has some hard brissle type things off its chest.. what is it and does this mean my white hen is really a white tom??

this is my third year trying to raise turkeys with little sucsess [​IMG] but i have two!!!!!
    thanks for putting up with my stupid qestions.

2. chicmom

chicmom Dances with Chickens

Feb 24, 2009
    Strasburg Ohio
    Quote:Hello! I also have two turkeys, a BS and a RP. I bought them as day olds on May 20. Here's what they look like now:

[​IMG]
    They like to come onto the front porch and peek in the window.

I think the brissle thing is called the beard. I don't know if only males get the beard or not. Neither one of mine has a beard.

3. rfwombat

rfwombat Out Of The Brooder

Mar 3, 2009
    Humboldt County
    Both males and females can have a beard, just depends on the breed. The males will have a much larger and fuller beard than the females though.

4. Evelle

Apr 27, 2011
    North Idaho
    Quote:Hello! I also have two turkeys, a BS and a RP. I bought them as day olds on May 20. Here's what they look like now:

https://www.backyardchickens.com/forum/uploads/23665_porchturkeys.jpg
    They like to come onto the front porch and peek in the window.

I think the brissle thing is called the beard. I don't know if only males get the beard or not. Neither one of mine has a beard.