two-year old chicken off balance, couldn't lift head

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by elias002, Apr 20, 2009.

1. elias002

elias002 New Egg

Apr 20, 2009
    Minneapolis, MN
    I had a chicken that I just put down yesterday. She first started acting like she couldn't stand up without sticking out a wing for support; she seemed off balance when she walked. This went on for some time. No other symptoms except she was somewhat messy around her vent area. Then gradually she seemed less able to lift her head, so that her head laid down on her back and her neck/crop area stuck out in front. She still managed to manouver enough to eat and drink, but I figured she would gradually starve and so I decided it was more merciful to kill her. Do you have any idea what happened? My other chicken seems fine. Was this some sort of nutritional deficiency?
    Thanks for any insights. I've had chickens for four years and this was a first. (p.s. I'm new to this listserv; just got your address while asking around about my chicken)

2. pinkchick

pinkchick "Ain't nuttin' like having da' blues"

May 30, 2008
    Washington State
    How sad, sorry for your chicken.
    I was just going to post the same question!!!

I hope some one comes along soon to help you out.
    I'm not trying to steal the thread just wanted to post some of my hens symptoms as they are very close to your chickens.