U-G-L-Y! (just kidding)

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by cairopd1069, Dec 16, 2010.

1. cairopd1069

cairopd1069 Out Of The Brooder

Dec 4, 2010
    Cairo, Ga
    How can I say this in a nice way? My two week old chicks are looking shabby. This is my first time raising chicks and they looked so cute and fluffy when they arrived on the 3rd of December. Now they look like, well I don't know, I guess the word would be "ruffled". They are losing their chick coat and feathers are starting to become very visible and there is "fluffy" floating around my storage building. Are RIRs normally more aggressive than say, Wyndottes or Orpingtons?

2. owler

owler Out Of The Brooder

Jan 11, 2010
    Northen NJ
    I had the same reaction to their appearance. Kind of like gawky teen agers. This is my first time with chicks too. Mine arrived on 11/10. RIRs, BRs and EEs. The RIRs are more standoffish than the other two breeds. The BRs are by far the most curious and friendly.

3. SimplySplendidSilkies

SimplySplendidSilkies Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2010
    Adairsville, GA
    Not sure about the Wyndottes or Orpingtons but my RIR were not nice and were very stand offish. Get silkies they lose their chick coats and get prettier adult coats to replace them. That is what I now raise. What a difference breed makes. I think most look like gwaky teens at the age rage you are talking about. My silkies do start shaping up around 3 mths.

4. artsyrobin

artsyrobin Artful Wings

Mar 1, 2009
    Muskogee OK
    my RIR girl was standoffish, till she started laying, now she is one of the friendliest of the flock- they all go through a teenage phase, don't touch...LOL! then when they start laying they become friendly again- and yes that first molt from chicks to pre-teen is pretty dramatic

5. gritsar

gritsar Cows, Chooks & Impys - OH MY!

Nov 9, 2007
    SW Arkansas