Uh oh...I think "she's" a "he"

lcountry

In the Brooder
12 Years
May 11, 2007
This is my first time to have chickens and I've got to admit that I'm having a blast. My "plan" was optimism that we'd only get girls in the batch of 7 that we bought at the feed store.
roll.png

Realizing that might be a bit optimistic, I hoped that if we got a roo he'd be one of the leghorns that I could part with more easily. (I wouldn't even entertain the thought that my lovely little buff orpingtons would need a new home.) Any roo would be rehomed. No roosters at MY house. Period.

Well, my babies are now coming on 4 weeks old. Based on pictures and my best guess, I'd say we have all females...except for one buff orpington boy. He is the only one starting off red wattles and he's a bit bigger than the others - even though the same age. So I think I have a roo in the henhouse! But, now I'm wavering... I love my little buff babies! Should I give it a go with my little boy? I really didn't want fertilized eggs. Could he be separated? Is that mean?

Then the neighbors... How loud ARE roosters? We live on 4+ acres in a neighborhood of acreage homes. No rule against it, but I don't want to be the neighborhood pariah. Is it really worse than a barking dog?

Or do I need to steel my resolve and start looking for him a home?

Oh boy. Advice is needed!

Thanks!

Lisa

(edited for spelling)

Last edited:
I love hearing my rooster crow. It doesn't have that annoying quality that a barking dog has. Some roo's will crow non-stop, some will rarely crow. I'd say give it a go with your boy and see what happens. You might find him to be a very agreeable bird.