Uncertain Incubation??

Discussion in 'Incubating & Hatching Eggs' started by PoloChris, Mar 10, 2015.

1. PoloChris

PoloChris New Egg

Mar 6, 2015
    i set my incubator up 3 weeks ago, after the first week I bought an additional thermometer that read humidity. After placing the new one it I discovered the temp had been running at 89 deg. Well I'm at day 18, I've already discarded 2 eggs that obviously were not fertile. 3 more are questionable. I've never done this before and my eggs have light brown shells and it's hard for me tell what stage of development that have been in. I was wondering if I've ruined the batch or could I simply be a week behind bc of the low temp for the first week? Trying to remain optimistic. Any thoughts?

2. AmyLynn2374

AmyLynn2374 Humidity Queen

Oct 11, 2014
    Gouverneur, NY
    Let me share my experience. My first hatch I relied on one thermometer (bought brand new) and at lockdown I thought they looked behind, but was hoping it was inexperience, after all they were all moving and vigorous. Day 24 I had one hatch and day 25 I had one hatch, but it died in the night. So I ended up with one lone chick. Before my second hatch I bought 3 new thermometers and checked tham all and found out the thermometer that I used for the first hatch was SIX degrees off for the ENTIRE hatch. So when I though it was 99 it was actually like 93. I'm assuming that you were able to correct the temp so you were low for the first week, and have since been on temp. Chances are that you will definitely see a delay in the hatch, but all hope is not lost. There is always the possibility that a couple are thriving and will hatch.
    [​IMG]

3. PoloChris

PoloChris New Egg

Mar 6, 2015