Under the weather

Discussion in 'Emergencies / Diseases / Injuries and Cures' started by FreeBirthMama, Oct 24, 2014.

1. FreeBirthMama

FreeBirthMama Out Of The Brooder

Sep 3, 2014
    One of my hens has been sitting in the nesting box all day. She's not acting quite right. She did come out once at my urging to drink and eat a bit, but she was walking slowly. She also did a big poop when she got up, very big and watery, but no blood or mucous. When I pet her, she usually plumps herself up and spreads her wings, but today she just sits there making little clucking noises. What can I do? She's my sweetest hen, I don't want to loose her!

2. sourland

sourland Broody Magician Premium Member

May 3, 2009
    New Jersey
    It almost sounds as if she is going broody.

3. FreeBirthMama

Sep 3, 2014
    I didn't even consider that. It seems a strange time of year. We've had below freezing temps for the past couple of weeks already. I thought hen's went broody in the spring? I'm new to this.....Would she be walking slowly/awkwardly if she was broody? I watched another hen try to sit in the same nesting box (its their favorite, lol). She just climbed all over Cupcake, trying to get comfy but Cupcake wouldn't budge and the other hen eventually moved to the next box. If she was broody would she be less likely to share? I've seen 2 in that box together several times.

4. sunflour

sunflour Flock Master Premium Member

Jan 10, 2013
    Macon,GA
    I have one BO that went broody only a few weeks last fall after starting to lay. She gets broody so often, and did so several times despite weather or time of year. Your post does sound like she's broody. If they sit too long and don't eat/drink enough, they lose muscle and agility - My buff did that her first broody bout. Others will sit with her or on top of her and lay. She claims those eggs as her own. Or moves to another nest to claim those laid there.