1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

Unexpected Kill

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by HollyB, Feb 5, 2009.

1. HollyB

HollyB New Egg

Dec 8, 2008
    One of my hens was just killed by a hawk a couple of hours ago. I have her hanging upside down to drain the blood. It is getting close to dark - how quickly do I need to deal with the rest of the bird? Are layers good for eating? How should I proceed? How long till the blood drains? Temperature here tonight will be mid 50's - not very cold. I have never done this before and don't have the gear to boil water, etc. Plus I'm sad to lose my girl.

2. Brunty_Farms

Brunty_Farms Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 29, 2007
    Ohio
    If you havn't processed her already I would say burry her. Rigor mortis sets in with in 20 minutes and bacteria sets in shortly after if not kept cool. I wouldn't chance it if I was you.

3. imfowl

imfowl Chillin' With My Peeps

Dec 17, 2008
    Louisiana
    Just get the guts out of her as soon as possible. After you do that, she will be good in the fridge tonight if you dont have time to pluck her. If she's only a couple hours old, she should be fine.

4. Brelansmama

Brelansmama Chillin' With My Peeps

Jan 24, 2009
    McMinnville, Oregon
    Am I THAT ignorant to how meat chickens work.....I hunt elk, and have taken an animal in the evening, and not come back to track/butcher it till the next morning, with no problem of spoiling. Are chickens different because of size or something?
    I am just wondering [​IMG]

5. Debi214

Debi214 Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 6, 2008
    Richmond, VA
    Holly - I would say it depends on the temp. You need to hurry if the temps are in the 50's. Like any other meat you buy you know but I would get the guts out quick they are what spoils the meat.