Unfortunate question

Discussion in 'Meat Birds ETC' started by GoneHomeGrown, Aug 13, 2010.

1. GoneHomeGrown

GoneHomeGrown Out Of The Brooder

Jul 12, 2010
    I found one of my turkeys drown itself in the duck pool this morning. It did not appear to be dead long as there was no rigidity in the body and when I removed the head, there was still drainage of blood. I am new to this and used this as an opportunity to clean my first bird, but I have concerns to the safety of the meat.

1. Could it have been dead longer than I thought and not gone rigid because it was in water?

2. Do I need to worry that the water from the duck pool (about 3-4 days old) may have contaminated the meat?

3. Having concerns with it being safe for human consumption, should I just cook it up for the dogs or should I just toss it out all together?

Any information or thoughts are greatly appreciated.

2. jaj121159

jaj121159 Chillin' With My Peeps

May 27, 2010
    Northeast Nebraska
    Since it bled when cut, I would say it is fine. I wouldn't worry about the water either. Heck us waterfowl hunter pull ducks out of some nasty stuff. Remember in the olden days they would hang up birds guts and all until the head fell off then clean and eat them.

3. eKo_birdies

eKo_birdies Chillin' With My Peeps

May 11, 2010
    Northern Colorado
    Quote:

4. johny

johny Chillin' With My Peeps

May 22, 2010
    You assumed it drowned because of finding it in water.
    But how do you know it did not die of disease and just happened to be at water when it died?

5. chix4smokin

chix4smokin Out Of The Brooder

Mar 14, 2009
    Why would you go home grown if you're thinking about that? That kinda defeats the purpose. ( kinda like finding road kill)

6. eKo_birdies

May 11, 2010
    Northern Colorado
    Quote:they obviously don't want the bird THEY RAISED to go to waste. seriously, it's quite a bit different than finding road kill. [​IMG]

7. mstricer

mstricer Overrun With Chickens

Feb 12, 2009