Unheathyly skinny chickens

Discussion in 'Feeding & Watering Your Flock' started by mom2joshcanpark, Jul 30, 2011.

1. mom2joshcanpark

mom2joshcanpark Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2008
    Ok, I don't know what is going on, I have raised chickens for years and have never had a weight issue. I have 4 chickens of which 3 (1 Silkie Rooster, 1 Polish Hen and 1 Standard Brahma Hen) that are just skinny. The rooster is up and down, sometimes he eats well sometimes he always has food left over. He is about 4 and this started last year, I have no real concerns with him as long as he is maintaining his weight and eating. However, the Polish and Brahma are penned together away from the rooster, the Polish is supposed to be standard, but to me she is small, she eats, but not like she should, not as concerned, but watchful, now my chicken is the Brahma, she is so skinny I am surprised she is alive. I have been working with her for 2 almost 3 months now on her weight and pickyness on food. Right now due to my neighbors they cannot forage (working on that, but my other chicken has lived in the house for 2 years and has been fit). This Brahma picks at food and has lost weight. She still lays eggs and all. She is our second Brahma so I know how big she should be and she is no where near it, I worry greatly about her.

So tell me what I can do to get her to eat better and pick up weight. I use feed from Orchlean and Tractor Supply tried 3 different brands now. Their cage is always full of food because they never eat it, we give fresh as well and they just scratch it.

Any ideas??
    Thans

2. NoseyChickens

NoseyChickens Feathers On The Ground

Aug 3, 2009
    Southern California
    It could be worms. You may want to worm them. i haven't had any experiance myself with thin chickens, but that's what it sounds like. I hope you find out and can cure them. Best of luck

3. chicken crazed 1o1

chicken crazed 1o1 Chillin' With My Peeps

Mar 29, 2011
    Dugald , Manitoba