Update: Got 2 feed store Silkies! Please tell me how they look...

Discussion in 'Raising Baby Chicks' started by silverlining, Apr 25, 2009.

1. silverlining

silverlining Chillin' With My Peeps

Apr 11, 2009
    Highlands Ranch
    I am getting 3 Silkie chicks tomorrow from the feed store because no local breeders have any chicks hatching soon enough in age to my current babies (2 weeks old) to mix together right away.

These will be my first Silkies (I'm also a chicken newbie!)

So my question is, what should I look for when picking out my chicks from the 50 fluffy butts running around?! I know clean butts/bright eyes/straight beaks and legs, but what stuff Silkie-specific?

I want whites and blacks, and for them to be bearded.

Update:

OK, long story short feed store got them in early, we didn't know, and by the time we got there there were only 3 black chicks left out of all 50 silkies. So we picked out two (they put the other one left in with some other bantams where it was lovingly accepted, don't worry. Our feed store is WONDERFUL. They check for pasting up constantly. Anyway...). I'm brand new to chickens. Just got my first group (brahmas) two weeks ago. (The Silkies are separated from them by mesh right now because they are so tiny). They are in a big cardboard box brooder on my ping pong table in the dining room [​IMG] Red heat lamp, plenty of food and water with electrolytes/vitamins.