1. If this is your first time on BYC, we suggest you start with one of these three options:
    Raising Chickens Chicken Coops Join BYC
    If you're already a member of our community, click here to login & click here to learn what's new!

update of my flock and other life stuff (lots of photos)

Discussion in 'Pictures & Stories of My Chickens' started by laurenhill11245, Nov 18, 2013.

1. laurenhill11245

laurenhill11245 Out Of The Brooder

Hey all you chicken enthusiasts! it's good to be back at BYC after quite a few months away! I have alot to update on too unfortunately not all good! anyway how is everyone? and more importantly how are your feathered friends Id love to hear from you!

Now onto the updates! well I finished my degree, graduation is next week! (excited) and consequently I've been getting loads of shifts at work recently! hence the lack of updates and time spent on BYC :(

I'll start with the sad news :( a few months ago my beloved Olive passed away
    [​IMG]

she was old, I never knew exactly how old but this was her 5th home and she'd been at two of her previous homes for a year each so it was safe to say she was at least 3 years old. Age just got the best of her :(

and that's not where the bad news ends I'm afraid..... all my German Langshans bar Roo (the cockerel) and his daughter were killed by a fox :( safe to say I was upset, also all my chicks I had hatched this year except 2 were also killed. I have since bought an electric fence to hopefully stop it happening again, We are also going to make the original fence better.

Also my most favorite bird ever! my little Darwin the silver dorking cockerel died 2 weeks ago. We came to the conclusion he had a heart attack. He was about 2 years old, I miss him but at least he didn't suffer
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

RIP Handsome boy :(